We made it home…

25 Jul

Friday, 5:10pm

Well, I am very sorry for not writing for a day. It has been a whirlwind of activity getting used to taking care of Molly but don’t get me wrong, she is doing exceptionally well!

We arrived home on Wednesday evening about 7:30pm after several hours of travel from Columbus, OH.


A cool truck we just had to photograph for Matt as he loves motorcycles.


Matthew jamming to “Knock on Wood”. We listened to the 70’s station for a while!

And waiting for Molly, were some of her girlfriends and neighbors and her dog, Piper! They had this huge sign hung on to a van, so as we drove down the street, she could read it. It was so cool.

Then I have never seen her hustle out so fast to greet her friends! There were lots of hugs and smiles and “you did it”s for Molly.

But the big surprise for Molly, was that Ron and I had planned to redo her room. Now she knew it was being painted and that Grandma had bought her a new mattress set but she didn’t know the rest. Her girlfriends, Sydney, Taylor, Cassi, Katrina, Wren, Megan had come over with Sydney’s mom, Wren and Megan’s mom, Mrs. Caruso, and Mrs. Bartholomew and decorated and rearranged her whole room in a “While You Were Out” fashion! It was gorgeous!


Seeing her room!


Taking it all in!


The girls and Molly.


Elation and joy!


Her new room….


Her bookcase so carefully decorated!


The tv is temporary…I am not a believer of having the tv in their bedrooms!


The big Get Well Card.


The inside of the big Get Well Card.


Close up of the big sign that was out front.

And Molly keeps wanting to be in there to just soak it up! My girlfriends, Christina and Deb, went above and beyond!! Christina painted her whole room in colors that Molly had chosen and Deb and her husband Joe, refinished Molly’s hardwood floors. Christina and I were debating what to do with the floors, as they were highly damaged (paint, circular saw marks, and staple marks from previous owners) and were contemplating giving it a whitewashed look. But Joe took a peek while we were already away and said “No way, we are going to refinish these!”

I am telling you with tears in my eyes, how amazing our friends are! Ron, Molly, and I are in awestruck and speechless still. We can’t possibly begin to thank them for all that they did. Because that isn’t all…. Deb and one of her sons, came out and planted some hostas in our back yard, one of her other sons helped take care of the yard, our neighbor handled our trash and recycling, and Christina and Deb did a ton more work on the bathroom that Christina and I were so desperately trying to remodel before I left.

We had torn out walls in the shower and ripped up flooring to put ceramic tile down. I had picked out paint, purchased a shower curtain, a light fixture, a mirror and magically, Christina and Deb had most to the bathroom finished by the time we returned!!!


Our new floor!

I am just floored and humbled! These women are amazing friends and we can’t wait to help them out in some major remodeling project now!!

After all the hubbub of our return died down, I unfortunately had to take Molly to Borgess ER for her very bad rash on her legs which has thickened her skin and actually her skin had rolled off. Turned out it was good I did, it is possibly a staph infection and she had a urinary tract infection as well. (Common to get after surgeries and hospital stays.)

But I had also noticed a spot on Molly’s arm on Tuesday, that I thought was this other infection moving upward to her arms and brought that to the attention of the docs. They are watching this spot carefully to make sure it is not an allergic reaction to something she had previously and this syndrome is called Erythema Multiforme. The good thing is that these type of markings tend to show up bilaterally and Molly’s appears to be only on one arm. We have taken photos of her arm and other rash for ourselves to make sure that they are not getting worse. We were also told to draw with permanent marker around her arm rash and date it, so we can see if it changes in size.

Molly was put on a non-sulfa based antibiotic to help the uti and a spray for her legs. She seems to be feeling much, much better now although the docs told us it would be 3-4 weeks before the skin on her inner legs would look well again.


The loads of meds she is on!


Her scar!

She is doing wonderfully though! And here are pics to prove it.


With her girlfriend.


Hanging out and catching up on “Design Star.”

I’ll have Molly write in soon! She is going to be very busy writing many thank yous as she recuperates here! We are amazed at everyone’s generosity, thoughtfulness and thankful for the many, many prayers!!!

19 Responses to “We made it home…”

  1. Jackie Stone July 26, 2008 at 1:30 am #

    Molly~
    I am so sorry that I couldn’t help with your room!!!!! (My parents never tell me when we are going somewhere) It looked awesome when it was done! You look great after surgery! And you are smiling in every single picture, which is awesome!I am sorry about the whole staph infection and everything. That sounds painful.
    The car ride home sounded long! I would hate to have to sit in a car for hours just a few days after surgery! I like what you said about doodling on the menus at Ihop. I do that too, when I’m bored. ๐Ÿ˜› I hope that you don’t have to keep on using all those meds for very long! Get Well Soon!
    ~Jackie

  2. Mrs. Stone July 26, 2008 at 1:34 am #

    Hi Molly,
    I bet you’re glad to be home. Now that the surgery phase is over, you can concentrate on healing, enjoying your beautiful new room, and getting ready for school (which will be here before we know it!). I continue to pray for your recovery, which I know will be long but hoping it won’t feel that way when it’s done.
    Love, Mrs. Stone

  3. Wren Marie July 26, 2008 at 9:46 pm #

    I am so sorry that i wasn’t there for the big reveal! I was there to help though and was wondering if you liked the card i brought. (the big one) I was also wondering about the banner. Sorry it had my moms work advertisment on the back but it was all i could find! I hope you like the bed to! I was a pain to transport. I had fun being squished by it in the back of the car though! You almost did not get your comforter. The lady said that “everything was in the box” we opened it and the comfoter was missing!!! Needles to say the woman gave it to us. I hope you enjoy your new room! I know we all had a great time putting it together.

    *****Wren-Marie*****

  4. Iris July 26, 2008 at 11:46 pm #

    It must feel good to be home! Molly’s room looks great! You have such wonderful friends. =)

  5. Katrina July 27, 2008 at 12:43 am #

    Molly you looked so great and happy!! I’m so glad that you like your room!! You’re in our thoughts. Feel better.
    Katrina

  6. Sydney July 27, 2008 at 4:43 pm #

    Molly,
    So do you like your room? Enjoy your room and Get well soon!! Hope you have a fast recovery!! You look a lot better in the pictures, compared to the hospitial!! I can tell that you are getting better!!
    Luv ya lots,
    ~Syd~

  7. Wren Marie July 28, 2008 at 12:52 am #

    O.M.G. I was just reading the comments and realized that i wrote that “i was a pain to transport” i meant to say that you BED was a pain to transport.

    So Sorry!
    *****Wren-Marie*****

  8. Uncle Dan and Aunt Amy July 28, 2008 at 1:42 am #

    You did it! Now you’re home safe and sound. We’ve been thinking of you. We’re so glad to see all is well and we can’t wait to see your new room!

    Sending our love,
    Uncle Dan and Aunt Amy

  9. The Kellers July 28, 2008 at 11:45 am #

    Welcome home Molly, and to all of you! What a whirlwind! We’re so glad that everything went well, and we hope the residual infections clear up soon. The room looks great. What a super gift. Hang in there, Molly, and take good care. We wish you a speedy and thorough recovery. With love and best wishes from Lauren, Brad, Erin and Ben

  10. Lori Pearson July 29, 2008 at 5:27 am #

    She is BEAMING!!!! She looks nearly as tall as Haley – and towers over Sydney!!! I love it!

    Tell her I said “hi”!

    Mrs. P.

  11. Tador Tot a.k.a. Taylor July 29, 2008 at 5:27 pm #

    Molly this is amazing, u r sooo tall!! i am sooo prpoud of u!! i glad i could b a part in redecorating ur room, it was fun, i’m glad u like it!! ๐Ÿ™‚ btw ur hair looks cute up in the pic above with sabrina!! ๐Ÿ˜‰ c:

    2nd sis 4ever,
    Taylor 8)

    p.s. i glued the flowers on the tacs with Sydney!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    p.s.s. i can’t wait 2 c u at school!! 8th grade, yipee!! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ˜‰ 8)

  12. Tador Tot a.k.a. Taylor July 29, 2008 at 5:29 pm #

    EnJoY tHe ReSt Of SuMmEr!! 8)

  13. Tador Tot a.k.a. Taylor July 29, 2008 at 5:33 pm #

    VoLlEyBaLl AwAiTs U mOlLy!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ 8) ๐Ÿ˜‰ 8) ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Sydney July 30, 2008 at 1:23 am #

    Molly,
    Feel better SOON!! I hope that you have a super fast recovery!! Mrs.P you are right she does tower over me, she is so much taller!! Molly you were so cheerful last Wednesday, even after the surgery you had!! You are truly an inspiration!! Keep smiling!!
    Luv ya lots,
    ~Syd~

  15. Wren Marie July 31, 2008 at 3:32 pm #

    SRRY!!! I feel so bad i wrote that “you bed”!!! I am having such an off week in spelling words!! C U soon moll! Weesa gonna have fun in eigth grade!

    *****Wren-Marie*****

  16. Wren Marie July 31, 2008 at 3:33 pm #

    Did i spell 8th right? im not even gonna try to spell it again!

  17. Cassi August 3, 2008 at 2:02 pm #

    Hey Molls! You look great it all of the pics up above and I luv your hair up in a ponytail! You’re almost as tall as Haley and now your like SO much taller then me!!!! We are 23 days away from being 8th graders!!!! I am kinda excited about going back to school!!!!!! See ya then and feel better!
    Love,
    Cassi

  18. Cassi August 3, 2008 at 2:03 pm #

    P.S. I’ll be kinda said cuz Nick and Joe are leaving!!!

  19. Cassi August 3, 2008 at 2:03 pm #

    Whoops, *sad* not said!

Leave a Reply

